2023 Agenda

March 3, 2023

Program is based on a minimum of 25% of time allowed for questions and answers.

8:00 – 8:25 am Registration & Hot Breakfast
Dr. Elaine Yeung (Chair)
Scarborough Health Network
8:30 – 9:00 am Role of Gut Microbiome in Cancer
Dr. Zahra Kassam
Southlake Regional Health
9:00 – 9:30 am Immunotherapy in Gastric and Esophageal Cancer – What do we do now?
Dr. Yoo-Joung Ko
Unity Health
9:30 – 10:30 am KEYNOTE PRESENTATION: Surgical Innovation in Low Rectal Cancer
Dr. Antonio Caycedo
Orlando Health
10:30 – 10:45 am BREAK
10:45 – 11:15 am Understanding Wellness
Dr. Shree Bhalerao
Unity Health
11:15am – 12:15 pm Tumor Board:
Case #1: HCC

Participants will be asked to use Slido to choose answers in the case. Participants will be able to ask questions during case discussions.

Moderator: Dr. Suneil Khanna

Dr. Timothy Asmis
Medical Oncologist
The Ottawa Hospital

Dr. Gonzalo Sapisochin
General Surgeon
University Health Network

Dr. Chirag Patel
Sunnybrook Health Sciences

Dr. Laura Dawson
Radiation Oncologist
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

Dr. Ju-Yoon Yoon
Unity Health

12:15 – 1:30pm Lunch Breakout:
Updates to Ostomy Management

Moderator: TBA
Sukaina Muhammad,RN MClSc-WH NSWOC WOCN (C )
Adjunct Lecturer, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, University of Toronto

1:30 – 2:00 pm Tumor Board
Case #2 : TNT
Participants will be asked to use i-clickers to choose answers in the case. Participants will be able to ask questions during case discussions.
2:00 – 2:30 pm Liver Cancer Radiation Therapy – Ready for Prime Time
Dr. Laura Dawson
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
2:30 – 2:45 pm BREAK
2:45 – 3:45 pm DEBATE: Fecal Immunochemical Testing (FIT) vs. Colonoscopy

Pro: Be it resolved that FIT should be the preferred modality for colon cancer screening in average risk individuals

Con: Colonoscopy remains the gold standard test for colon cancer screening

Dr. Talia Zenlea
Women’s College Hospital

Dr. Linda Rabeneck
University of Toronto

Moderator: Dr. Steve MacLellan

3:45 – 4:00 pm SUMMARY & CLOSING
Dr. Elaine Yeung (Chair)