2023 Faculty

Guest Speakers

Jacob Easaw

Jacob Easaw PhD MD FRCPC
Cross Cancer Institute
Department of Medical
Oncology, University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

Dr. Easaw is a Professor in the Division of Medical Oncology at the Cross Cancer Institute in Edmonton, Alberta. He is board-certified in internal medicine and medical oncology. He is actively involved in both patient care and clinical research. His research interests include health services research, database design, clinical informatics and the introduction of technology into clinic. He is a recent recipient of awards in both teaching and research excellence.

Michael Raphael

Michael Raphael MD MSc FRCPC
Gastrointestinal Medical Oncologist, Odette Cancer Centre
Assitant Professor, Division of Medical Oncology, University of Toronto
Head, GI Medical Oncology Clinical Trials Program
Medical Oncology Lead, Hepatic Arterial Infusion Pump Program
Research Profile: Sunnybrook Research Institute

Dr. Raphael’s clinical practice is entirely devoted to the care of patients with gastrointestinal malignancies, with a subspecialty focus on gastric, biliary tract, pancreatic and colorectal cancers. Dr. Raphael’s research focus is on population-based cancer care. His research aims to identify ways to optimize the coordination and delivery of cancer care services, and to describe gaps in care, disparities in access to treatment, uptake of cancer therapies, and real-world toxicity and effectiveness. His research has already influenced practice guidelines globally, and led to a new quality metric that is routinely captured by Cancer Care Ontario (“time to initiating adjuvant chemotherapy”). Dr. Raphael was awarded the 2018–2019 Canadian Association of Medical Oncologists Research Fellowship to support his ongoing productive research portfolio.

Planning Committee

Elaine Yeung MD, FRCPC
Chair, Planning Committee 2023
Lecturer, University of Toronto
Chief of Staff, Scarborough Health Network

Eric Chen MD, FRCPC
Medical Oncologist
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

Charles Cho MSc, MD, FRCPC
Radiation Oncologist
Southlake Regional Cancer Centre

Shiva Jayaraman MD, MESc, FRCSC, FACS
HPB Surgeon
Unity Health Toronto

Suneil Khanna MD, FRCPC
Medical Oncologist
Mackenzie Health

Charmaine Lynden MN, RN(EC)
Nurse Practitioner
Trillium Health Partners

Mark Pasetka BSc, BScPharm, Pharm D, R.Ph
Clinical Pharmacy Coordinator
Odette Cancer Centre

Steve MacLellan MD, FRCSC
General Surgeon
Humber River Hospital